INSIDE LAKESIDE
Log In or Register

Check your spam/junk folder for activation e-mail after you register.

Looking for volunteers to eat and give your opinion………

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Looking for volunteers to eat and give your opinion………

Post by La Media Luna on Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:46 am

At La Media Luna we are thinking about offering Montréal Style Smoked Meat (Sandwiches.)
We are looking for 4 true connoisseurs of Montréal Smoked Meat.  Specifically people that have eaten it many times or has grown up eating it. (The purpose of this is to see if this would be a good addition to our menu.)
Once we find the volunteers, later in March we will invite them to La Media Luna for a free lunch with refreshments in exchange for an honest opinion and critique of the flavor and the presentation.
We will also discuss the size of the sandwich, the price point that is thought the local expats would pay and compare it to the cost of making the sandwich. So discretion is a must and would be greatly appreciated.  
Please PM us for consideration and let us know how familiar you are with Montreal Style Smoked Meats and how many times or years you’ve eaten it.
Once we find the four volunteers (plus CBob) we will keep you informed and make arrangements for the day and time of the lunch.

Sincerely, La Media Luna
avatar
La Media Luna
Member
Member

Posts : 35
Join date : 2016-02-10
Location : Parroquia # 1C Ajijic, Jalisco, mexico 45920

http://la-media-luna.webs.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Looking for volunteers to eat and give your opinion………

Post by slainte39 on Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:18 pm

"LOOKING FOR VOLUNTEERS TO EAT"
When I saw the topic banner, I thought "what? cannibals?  LOL
You have to go out and capture them as they don't usually volunteer. (at least I wouldn't volunteer)
lol! lol! lol!

slainte39
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 6763
Join date : 2010-07-22

Back to top Go down

Re: Looking for volunteers to eat and give your opinion………

Post by gringal on Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:25 pm

Once they've been eaten, they don't offer opinions. Shocked

But seriously folks...how is Montreal meat different in character from U.S. or Mexican meat? Saltier? smokier?
There are a few ex-Canadian foodies who will probaby be happy to volunteer.

gringal
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 9137
Join date : 2010-04-09
Humor : occasionally

Back to top Go down

Re: Looking for volunteers to eat and give your opinion………

Post by slainte39 on Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:37 pm

gringal wrote:Once they've been eaten, they don't offer opinions. Shocked

True!!  You would have to judge by the "burp".

slainte39
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 6763
Join date : 2010-07-22

Back to top Go down

Re: Looking for volunteers to eat and give your opinion………

Post by RVGRINGO on Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:28 pm

There is a brand name in Mexico: Jamon Montreal. They briefly had a store in Ajijic, but did not stay long. Their meats are good, deli-style cold meats, but there was just not enough volume locally.

RVGRINGO
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 1059
Join date : 2011-02-16

Back to top Go down

Re: Looking for volunteers to eat and give your opinion………

Post by zenwoodle on Wed Feb 01, 2017 8:30 pm

gringal wrote:But seriously folks...how is Montreal meat different in character from U.S. or Mexican meat?  Saltier? smokier?
There are a few ex-Canadian foodies who will probaby be happy to volunteer.
Ben's was the best. It's all in the spices. Beer Beer
avatar
zenwoodle
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 1491
Join date : 2012-07-17
Age : 68
Location : Ajijic, formerly from Ontario
Humor : Sarcastic, but nobody seems to get it

Back to top Go down

Re: Looking for volunteers to eat and give your opinion………

Post by La Media Luna on Thu Feb 02, 2017 6:43 pm

So far we've got two great volunteers. Both have eaten the product that we are wanting to duplicate.
We'll keep looking until we find the other two. :-)
avatar
La Media Luna
Member
Member

Posts : 35
Join date : 2016-02-10
Location : Parroquia # 1C Ajijic, Jalisco, mexico 45920

http://la-media-luna.webs.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Looking for volunteers to eat and give your opinion………

Post by DaveP on Thu Feb 02, 2017 8:59 pm

La Media Luna wrote:So far we've got two great volunteers. Both have eaten the product that we are wanting to duplicate.
We'll keep looking until we find the other two. :-)

Check your PM's

DaveP
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 590
Join date : 2010-04-05
Location : La Canacinta
Humor : A little English

Back to top Go down

Re: Looking for volunteers to eat and give your opinion………

Post by La Media Luna on Fri Feb 03, 2017 9:59 am

gringal wrote:Once they've been eaten, they don't offer opinions. Shocked

But seriously folks...how is Montreal meat different in character from U.S. or Mexican meat?  Saltier? smokier?
There are a few ex-Canadian foodies who will probaby be happy to volunteer.

My understand of the difference between Montreal smoked meat sandwich compared to its closest counterpart Pastrami is in the spices used and the final cooking preparation.

In Montreal when it's done curing, smoking (smoke cooking) they then steam it before slicing it for the sandwitches.

Because of the different spices I'm sure the flavor is different and with steaming it I would guess it will be more tender and maybe more moist.

But we will find out next month. :-)
avatar
La Media Luna
Member
Member

Posts : 35
Join date : 2016-02-10
Location : Parroquia # 1C Ajijic, Jalisco, mexico 45920

http://la-media-luna.webs.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Looking for volunteers to eat and give your opinion………

Post by La Media Luna on Sat Feb 04, 2017 1:52 pm

Thanks to all who contacted us to volunteer we have all the people needed and have contacted them to make arrangements.
We'll see how this goes and maybe in the future was can offer this type of smoked meats. :-)
avatar
La Media Luna
Member
Member

Posts : 35
Join date : 2016-02-10
Location : Parroquia # 1C Ajijic, Jalisco, mexico 45920

http://la-media-luna.webs.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Looking for volunteers to eat and give your opinion………

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum