INSIDE LAKESIDE
Log In or Register

Check your spam/junk folder for activation e-mail after you register.

More apple complaints

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

More apple complaints

Post by ferret on Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:58 pm

I'm starting to think about the apple logo with the bite taken out of it and have decided that it must be the section where the brain was located.
My hubby wanted to purchase a two buck app for a world atlas. I have tried every which way to enter credit card info and address...even was on the phone with Apple Support. For some reason, Apple hasn't figured out that a Canadian Credit Card can have Mexican address. Amazon is WAY ahead of them in this aspect and also the Canadian Banks.
Dear Apple,
It's a BIG world and people actually live in different parts of it. They do not have to have a credit card issued in the country where they are living. All they have to do, is inform the credit card company where they are living. Could you please update your antiquated system to include people who actually travel more than 20 miles from home on a regular basis.
Signed Disgruntled Customer
P.S. I found a wonderful website with a detailed world atlas using Google on a laptap operating Windows 7...take your two buck app and shove it.
avatar
ferret
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 3767
Join date : 2010-05-23

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by Rosa Venus on Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:23 pm

I guess they don't care that much about two dollars?

Sorry. I'm sure you were frustrated but it's a pretty funny rant.

P.S. Wait a minute, I'm editing this. Now that I take a longer view, what are they thinking? At two bucks a pop they could be making a killing. Idiots. Short APPL!!! Very Happy
avatar
Rosa Venus
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 1646
Join date : 2012-05-24
Location : Mexico
Humor : The funny kind

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by joec on Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:57 pm

Rosa Venus wrote:I guess they don't care that much about two dollars?

Sorry. I'm sure you were frustrated but it's a pretty funny rant.

P.S. Wait a minute, I'm editing this. Now that I take a longer view, what are they thinking? At two bucks a pop they could be making a killing. Idiots. Short APPL!!! Very Happy

Sounds like a problem, but maybe Apple doesn't need your money since it's the richest cash company in the US or maybe even in the world. LOL....

joec
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 1217
Join date : 2012-11-01
Age : 73
Location : West Ajijic
Humor : Sometimes

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by jrm30655 on Fri Jan 11, 2013 5:30 am

joec wrote:
Rosa Venus wrote:I guess they don't care that much about two dollars?

Sorry. I'm sure you were frustrated but it's a pretty funny rant.

P.S. Wait a minute, I'm editing this. Now that I take a longer view, what are they thinking? At two bucks a pop they could be making a killing. Idiots. Short APPL!!! Very Happy

Sounds like a problem, but maybe Apple doesn't need your money since it's the richest cash company in the US or maybe even in the world. LOL....

If I were going to play AAPL, I'd go short rather than long.

Lots of competitors showing up with better products at a lower price

jrm30655
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 614
Join date : 2012-06-08

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by David on Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:45 am

Did you enter your billing address which I assume is in Canada? Or do you have a billing address in Mexico for that Canadian CC? Just curious.
avatar
David
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 5005
Join date : 2010-04-05
Location : Ajijic
Humor : Good

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by CanuckBob on Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:48 am

When making any on-line purchase the billing address must match what the credit card company has on file.
avatar
CanuckBob
Humble Administrator
Humble Administrator

Posts : 13558
Join date : 2010-04-04
Age : 54
Location : Lake Chapala (from Vancouver)
Humor : Sick and twisted

http://Www.casadecomo.webs.com

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by David on Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:52 am

Si, which is why my billing address is my NOB address.
avatar
David
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 5005
Join date : 2010-04-05
Location : Ajijic
Humor : Good

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by ferret on Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:04 am

David wrote:Did you enter your billing address which I assume is in Canada? Or do you have a billing address in Mexico for that Canadian CC? Just curious.

Billing address is in Mexico for both of our Canadian Credit Cards and has been that way for 15 years. I believe that the first four digits indicate the country of origin. This is not the first time that we've encountered the problem. Just didn't expect it from a computer company that writes code.
BTW, it was meant to be funny but it was frustrating. I felt better after eating some ice cream and was thinking that the only way around this may be to buy the vouchers in Walmart with Mexico as the country of origin...enter "none" under credit card info.
Do those vouchers expire? Not a perfect solution nor is it customer friendly but possible I guess.
avatar
ferret
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 3767
Join date : 2010-05-23

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by Mad_Max on Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:24 am

There is one more perspective - and that is address verification. That is, you want to know that the billing address that the customer entered, really did match what the credit company has on file.

Why? Simple matter of fraud. You want to keep it at zero - (impossible)

And, if the company's is US based, they can only verify US addresses and perhaps Canada's. But not Mexico. So when I was in ecommerce, if I received and order where address verification failed, I would usually just let them know that I could not process their order.

PS - if the shipping address was outside of the US, I would contact them to verify that the shipping address outside of the US was valid. If I couldn't reach them, I didn't ship.


Last edited by Mad_Max on Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:54 am; edited 1 time in total
avatar
Mad_Max
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 350
Join date : 2011-01-03

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by ferret on Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:42 am

Address verification is logical and the address is written EXACTLY as our billing statements.
No problems with Graboid, with Amazon or Sears Canada. Sears U.S. is another story. Those are just a few...we have ordered many things online and had them delivered to various addresses in both Canada and the U.S.

Anybody have any info on the redeemable apple vouchers available in Walmart? Can I use an iTunes card to purchase apps? Is there an expiry date? TIF.
avatar
ferret
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 3767
Join date : 2010-05-23

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by David on Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:49 am

[quote="ferret BTW, it was meant to be funny but it was frustrating. I felt better after eating some ice cream and was thinking that the only way around this may be to buy the vouchers in Walmart with Mexico as the country of origin...enter "none" under credit card info.
Do those vouchers expire? Not a perfect solution nor is it customer friendly but possible I guess.[/quote]

I share your frustration. I've not had trouble using my credit cards but find that many vendors and many sellers on eBay will not ship to Mexico!
avatar
David
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 5005
Join date : 2010-04-05
Location : Ajijic
Humor : Good

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by joec on Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:06 am

David wrote:Si, which is why my billing address is my NOB address.

It doesn't matter where your billing address is as long as your credit card number that you give matches.

joec
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 1217
Join date : 2012-11-01
Age : 73
Location : West Ajijic
Humor : Sometimes

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by joec on Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:09 am

David wrote:[quote="ferret BTW, it was meant to be funny but it was frustrating. I felt better after eating some ice cream and was thinking that the only way around this may be to buy the vouchers in Walmart with Mexico as the country of origin...enter "none" under credit card info.
Do those vouchers expire? Not a perfect solution nor is it customer friendly but possible I guess.

I share your frustration. I've not had trouble using my credit cards but find that many vendors and many sellers on eBay will not ship to Mexico![/quote]

I've never had any problem in Mexico buy Japanese antique porcelain from different vendors shipping to my home address in Mexico via UPS or FedEx or USPS Priority Mail. If the item is insured, the vendor should not care.

joec
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 1217
Join date : 2012-11-01
Age : 73
Location : West Ajijic
Humor : Sometimes

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by Mad_Max on Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:09 am

joec wrote:
David wrote:Si, which is why my billing address is my NOB address.

It doesn't matter where your billing address is as long as your credit card number that you give matches.

Not true John if the company uses address verification. And most of them do.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Address_Verification_System
avatar
Mad_Max
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 350
Join date : 2011-01-03

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by David on Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:24 am

[quote="joec
I've never had any problem in Mexico buy Japanese antique porcelain from different vendors shipping to my home address in Mexico via UPS or FedEx or USPS Priority Mail. If the item is insured, the vendor should not care.[/quote]

Just because YOU have not had a problem doesn't negate the problems of others.
avatar
David
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 5005
Join date : 2010-04-05
Location : Ajijic
Humor : Good

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by joec on Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:39 am

Mad_Max wrote:
joec wrote:
David wrote:Si, which is why my billing address is my NOB address.

It doesn't matter where your billing address is as long as your credit card number that you give matches.

Not true John if the company uses address verification. And most of them do.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Address_Verification_System

Read my post again. If my billing address is in Mexico and I use my credit card and my address here the charge will always go thru. If my billing address is in the US and I use a US address the credit card will always go thru.

The billing address for my MC is in the US and I buy stuff all the time in Mexico or wherever and I give the US billing address, everything goes thru.

joec
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 1217
Join date : 2012-11-01
Age : 73
Location : West Ajijic
Humor : Sometimes

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by ferret on Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:42 am

Mad_Max wrote:
joec wrote:
David wrote:Si, which is why my billing address is my NOB address.

It doesn't matter where your billing address is as long as your credit card number that you give matches.

Not true John if the company uses address verification. And most of them do.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Address_Verification_System

Mad Max, this is a quote from your link...
AVS verifies that the billing address of the credit or debit card matches the address that was given by the customer. Because AVS only verifies the numeric portion of the address, certain anomalies like apartment numbers can cause false

That is EXACTLY what John is saying and what I am saying...It doesn't matter where your billing address is as long as the credit card number that you give MATCHES EXACTLY with the billing address that your credit card company has on file for you. That's what AVS does and I appreciate the security. Obviously SOME companies are using more than AVS or another type of security in addition which screws it up.

avatar
ferret
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 3767
Join date : 2010-05-23

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by gringal on Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:46 am

Yes, the billing address must match the credit card address. This can be a mail drop in Texas, for all anyone cares.

The shipping address is another matter. We have discovered that a number of large and small companies will NOT ship to Mexico. That is where the importers come in: Merkalink and others.

We have the item shipped to the importer in the U.S. They take care of customs and then ship directly to our door through Estafeta. Tracking is available. Never have had a problem in 5 years in Ajijic.

BTW, Apple and its cute little logo stinks, IMO. Always costs more for no good reason. It's been a long, long time since buying Apple was a de facto protest against "that other company". pirat

gringal
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 9241
Join date : 2010-04-09
Humor : occasionally

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by hockables on Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:13 am

Smokealot The Apples down here have No Shelf Life.... hardly worth purchasing, they only keep a day or two....
and they get all mushy in Pies.... not the best variety....
Speak'n of which.... have you tried the local cheeses on yer Apple Pie...just not the same...
but on that Hoxx will speak no further!

hockables
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 3697
Join date : 2010-04-06

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by slainte39 on Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:42 am

hockables wrote: Smokealot The Apples down here have No Shelf Life.... hardly worth purchasing, they only keep a day or two....
and they get all mushy in Pies.... not the best variety....
Speak'n of which.... have you tried the local cheeses on yer Apple Pie...just not the same...
but on that Hoxx will speak no further!

The next thing...you will be "attacking" are "Moms".
Have you no decency sir? lol! lol!













slainte39
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 6832
Join date : 2010-07-22

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by gringal on Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:56 am

Whatever you do, don't buy the "Delicious". They aren't.

gringal
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 9241
Join date : 2010-04-09
Humor : occasionally

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by Mad_Max on Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:44 am

joec wrote:
David wrote:[quote="ferret BTW, it was meant to be funny but it was frustrating. I felt better after eating some ice cream and was thinking that the only way around this may be to buy the vouchers in Walmart with Mexico as the country of origin...enter "none" under credit card info.
Do those vouchers expire? Not a perfect solution nor is it customer friendly but possible I guess.

I share your frustration. I've not had trouble using my credit cards but find that many vendors and many sellers on eBay will not ship to Mexico!

I've never had any problem in Mexico buy Japanese antique porcelain from different vendors shipping to my home address in Mexico via UPS or FedEx or USPS Priority Mail. If the item is insured, the vendor should not care.[/quote]

oh my gosh - you don't realize that insurance is for delivery insurance? And that fraud has nothing to do with delivery insurance? So here are some definitions of fraud - Wrongful or criminal deception intended to result in financial or personal gain - A person or thing intended to deceive others, typically by unjustifiably claiming or being credited with accomplishments or qualities.

Note - the word delivery was not used in the above description. There is no insurance that one can purchase to reimburse you for a customer using a fraudulent credit card. But - if you can prove it, I guess you can send the person to jail - however, with internet fraud you have problems with jurisdiction - do you call the police where you are located - or where the real cardholder is located - or where the merchandise was shipped. Becomes a bouncing ball.
avatar
Mad_Max
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 350
Join date : 2011-01-03

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by HelperGuy on Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:02 pm

gringal wrote:Whatever you do, don't buy the "Delicious". They aren't.
In fact, let's talk about apples. You're right, the delicious are not. But even back home they've been so over-bred for sweetness that I can't stand them anymore. Here, the flesh is pulpy, probably due to the long ride in the reefer. There is definitely a dearth of apple selection here. CostCo has been carrying six-packs of something called Jazz and some other variety, and they are based I think on some kind of delicious variety, but they are much fresher and taste much better. I'm Canadian, eh, and you don't know what you got til it's gone.

HelperGuy
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 1910
Join date : 2012-04-23

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by gringal on Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:20 pm

We got some Galas and another greenish apple from Walmart. They're good.
The Delicious aren't; very mealy and no flavor. And that's them apples.

gringal
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 9241
Join date : 2010-04-09
Humor : occasionally

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by HelperGuy on Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:25 pm

Those Galas are about the only edible ones we can get here.

HelperGuy
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 1910
Join date : 2012-04-23

Back to top Go down

Re: More apple complaints

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum