INSIDE LAKESIDE
Log In or Register

Check your spam/junk folder for activation e-mail after you register.

Need The Doc's Opinion

Go down

Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by espíritu del lago on Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:58 pm

avatar
espíritu del lago
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 3891
Join date : 2010-04-05
Humor : Sarcastic

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by Pedro on Mon Mar 11, 2013 7:07 pm

Forget the doc's opinion. Ask the Dental Hygienist and the lab tech. As a lay person whose first wife was prone to this sort of crap,I can tell you this ;Ketone diet will give you bad breath
avatar
Pedro
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 4600
Join date : 2012-11-29
Age : 75

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by Jim W on Mon Mar 11, 2013 7:10 pm

melwhitlock wrote:Forget the doc's opinion. Ask the Dental Hygienist and the lab tech. As a lay person whose first wife was prone to this sort of crap,I can tell you this ;Ketone diet will give you bad breath

Mel, it also looks like bad teeth as well... Beer
avatar
Jim W
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 5153
Join date : 2010-04-24
Age : 70
Location : Chapala
Humor : Whenever I need it!

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by Chapalamed on Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:42 pm

I've never heard or read about this type of diet. Some diabetics go into a coma when high levels of ketones accumulate in their bodies. This condition is known as Ketoacidosis.

Not a good thing.

I would say to try it at your own risk.
avatar
Chapalamed
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 193
Join date : 2012-12-21
Location : Chapala

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by Trailrunner on Tue Mar 12, 2013 9:28 am

Chapalamed wrote:I've never heard or read about this type of diet. Some diabetics go into a coma when high levels of ketones accumulate in their bodies. This condition is known as Ketoacidosis. Not a good thing. I would say to try it at your own risk.

Agree with the doctor!
This diet looks dangerous to me, it would certainly be at the expense of your cardiovascular system.
avatar
Trailrunner
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 5515
Join date : 2011-04-18

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by espíritu del lago on Tue Mar 12, 2013 10:06 am

I agree.. sure looked good..
avatar
espíritu del lago
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 3891
Join date : 2010-04-05
Humor : Sarcastic

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by Trailrunner on Tue Mar 12, 2013 10:27 am

Really?
I eat a primarily plant-based diet and that kind of meal turns my stomach now.
Provecho
avatar
Trailrunner
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 5515
Join date : 2011-04-18

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by ferret on Tue Mar 12, 2013 10:32 am

Makes me wonder what the effect of all that fat would have on your gallbladder too.
Melwhitlock...Is it OK to give my opinion now that the OP has an answer from a Doctor? razberry
avatar
ferret
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 3977
Join date : 2010-05-23

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by espíritu del lago on Tue Mar 12, 2013 12:01 pm

I get it the plant based diet.... But....... Come on..

Breakfast
4 slices bacon
1 egg
2 tablespoons extra bacon grease

Lunch
3 ounces salmon
1/2 cup onions sautéed
1/3 cup coconut milk
Cooked with 1 tablespoon coconut oil

Snack
10-12 macadamia nuts

Dinner
5 ounces porterhouse beef steak with 1/8″ fat
Cooked in 1 tablespoon tallow

I would just omit the bolded... and cook the eggs in the bacon grease, then add to the salmon tomatoes and dill, plus a small amount olive oil.
avatar
espíritu del lago
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 3891
Join date : 2010-04-05
Humor : Sarcastic

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by arbon on Tue Mar 12, 2013 6:26 pm

Add 3 veg and you get a "Full English"


Add a plate of pancakes and you have a "Full American"
avatar
arbon
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 899
Join date : 2011-07-16
Age : 78
Humor : Humour

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by slainte39 on Tue Mar 12, 2013 11:17 pm

That first one sure looks like a "full Irish" to me, especially the black pudding.....the copycats. Very Happy

slainte39
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 7212
Join date : 2010-07-22

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by arbon on Wed Mar 13, 2013 12:22 am

That first one sure looks like a "full Irish" to me, especially the black pudding

What with loaf bread and pookies?

(and no scone)
avatar
arbon
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 899
Join date : 2011-07-16
Age : 78
Humor : Humour

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by slainte39 on Wed Mar 13, 2013 12:47 am

arbon wrote:
That first one sure looks like a "full Irish" to me, especially the black pudding

What with loaf bread and pookies?

(and no scone)

Sure looks like Irish rashers to me.
No scone is right...always Irish soda bread. Scones are for tea time. Very Happy
Now porridge does well on both sides of the Irish Sea.

slainte39
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 7212
Join date : 2010-07-22

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by Dr. Sam Thelin on Wed Mar 13, 2013 12:54 am

espíritu del lago wrote:Ketogenic diet.

This is too good to be true.. Shocked

http://www.paleoplan.com/2012/09-24/what-does-a-ketogenic-paleo-diet-look-like/

Yes, it can work. Like the Atkins diet, but high fat instead of high protein. Both are low carbohydrates. It will work if the carbohydrates are almost zero. However, most people do not function well at that level. I would not recommend it to anyone.

Dr. Sam Thelin
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 332
Join date : 2012-12-18
Location : Chapala

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by slainte39 on Wed Mar 13, 2013 2:13 am

arbon wrote:
That first one sure looks like a "full Irish" to me, especially the black pudding

What with loaf bread and pookies?

(and no scone)

Is that a pookie hiding under the slice of bread? You're right...that's a strange weed in the garden. Very Happy

slainte39
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 7212
Join date : 2010-07-22

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by espíritu del lago on Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:19 am

Thank you...
avatar
espíritu del lago
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 3891
Join date : 2010-04-05
Humor : Sarcastic

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by E-raq on Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:12 am

melwhitlock wrote:Forget the doc's opinion. Ask the Dental Hygienist and the lab tech. As a lay person whose first wife was prone to this sort of crap,I can tell you this ;Ketone diet will give you bad breath

Geebus H. you just don't quit do you Peedro. Furthermore you are too stupid to understand both ferret's qualifications and mine, so take a hike peabrain. As in permanently.
avatar
E-raq
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 1999
Join date : 2012-05-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Need The Doc's Opinion

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum