INSIDE LAKESIDE
Log In or Register

Check your spam/junk folder for activation e-mail after you register.

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

INSIDE LAKESIDE
Log In or Register

Check your spam/junk folder for activation e-mail after you register.
INSIDE LAKESIDE
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Retirement homes and reviews of same

+4
Lady Otter Latté
Luisa
Zedinmexico
WillieRae
8 posters

Go down

Retirement homes and reviews of same Empty Retirement homes and reviews of same

Post by WillieRae Sun Aug 02, 2015 5:53 pm

I have a friend who is 91 yrs young and I do mean young, who would benefit greatly from living in this wonderful climate and stimulation. Are there any recommendations for someone on a very limited income? TIA

WillieRae
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 540
Join date : 2014-07-22

Back to top Go down

Retirement homes and reviews of same Empty Re: Retirement homes and reviews of same

Post by Zedinmexico Sun Aug 02, 2015 6:17 pm

Health care is the main problem given the low income you quote but without a number I don't know what is possible. I think the only option would be S.P. Last I checked assisted living was about 1200 to 1500USD a month and that includes food for good but modest facility. My numbers are about a year old. How much help does the person need determines cost. We were very happy with what we saw lakeside care wise.

Z

Zedinmexico
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 5604
Join date : 2011-10-28
Location : On the hill in Ajijic
Humor : Red Dwarf, Marx Brothers, SCTV

Back to top Go down

Retirement homes and reviews of same Empty Re: Retirement homes and reviews of same

Post by Luisa Mon Aug 03, 2015 8:33 am

Does your friend have medical insurance that would cover him in Mexico?

Luisa
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 556
Join date : 2010-12-02

Back to top Go down

Retirement homes and reviews of same Empty Re: Retirement homes and reviews of same

Post by Lady Otter Latté Mon Aug 03, 2015 8:37 am

With a very limited income your friend is not likely to qualify for resident status unless s/he also has the qualifying amount in savings.
Lady Otter Latté
Lady Otter Latté
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 6759
Join date : 2011-07-26
Location : Chapala
Humor : Biting

Back to top Go down

Retirement homes and reviews of same Empty Re: Retirement homes and reviews of same

Post by Zedinmexico Mon Aug 03, 2015 10:00 am

We have no numbers so we don't know what is going on. What are the new numbers for temp visa these days I know it went back down?

Z

Zedinmexico
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 5604
Join date : 2011-10-28
Location : On the hill in Ajijic
Humor : Red Dwarf, Marx Brothers, SCTV

Back to top Go down

Retirement homes and reviews of same Empty Re: Retirement homes and reviews of same

Post by sparks Mon Aug 03, 2015 10:15 am

13-1400 US with the peso so low

Might try asking Lakeside Care what they charge
http://lakesidecare.com/
sparks
sparks
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 1598
Join date : 2010-04-21
Location : Melaque, Jalisco Mexico
Humor : The joke's on me

http://sparksmex.blogspot.mx/

Back to top Go down

Retirement homes and reviews of same Empty Re: Retirement homes and reviews of same

Post by brigitte Mon Aug 03, 2015 2:56 pm

This varies and you cannot count on the pesos staying low.,


brigitte
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 4285
Join date : 2011-12-02

Back to top Go down

Retirement homes and reviews of same Empty Re: Retirement homes and reviews of same

Post by CanuckBob Mon Aug 03, 2015 3:51 pm

Or the USD staying high.......
CanuckBob
CanuckBob
Humble Administrator
Humble Administrator

Posts : 19737
Join date : 2010-04-04
Age : 59
Location : Lake Chapala (from Vancouver)
Humor : Sick and twisted

https://casadecomo.mx

Back to top Go down

Retirement homes and reviews of same Empty Re: Retirement homes and reviews of same

Post by sparks Mon Aug 03, 2015 4:01 pm

You only have to have that amount to get started.  They don't want to know your income every year
sparks
sparks
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 1598
Join date : 2010-04-21
Location : Melaque, Jalisco Mexico
Humor : The joke's on me

http://sparksmex.blogspot.mx/

Back to top Go down

Retirement homes and reviews of same Empty Re: Retirement homes and reviews of same

Post by sumofabit Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:48 pm

Alicia's has a price range of $1,200 to $1,500 USD a month with the latter being for one needing "memory care". Prices are all inclusive except for doctor visits, medicines, and diapers. On my last visit I went to their #7 Paseo del Lago place and was quite impressed with the accommodations and the help.

Their website:  http://aliciaconvalescent.com/

sumofabit
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 85
Join date : 2015-06-06
Location : Rio Grande Valley de Aztlán

Back to top Go down

Retirement homes and reviews of same Empty Re: Retirement homes and reviews of same

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum