INSIDE LAKESIDE
Log In or Register

Check your spam/junk folder for activation e-mail after you register.

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

INSIDE LAKESIDE
Log In or Register

Check your spam/junk folder for activation e-mail after you register.
INSIDE LAKESIDE
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review

Go down

HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review Empty HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review

Post by johninajijic Fri Sep 28, 2012 12:27 am

Seven of us from our Semi Monthly Dinner group ate at Hacienda Ajijic Steak Place tonight. The new owner, Pedro Arellano came over to introduce himself to each one of us. He told us the first drink was on the house, so order something expensive. Most of us ordered Margaritas in one form or another. They brought the tortilla chips and two salsas. One salsa was the typical one with tomatoes, onions and cilantro, very mild for American tastes. The other was a hot orange color, don't know what that was.

Thursday night is 99.50 peso meat special, except for rib eyes. Wednesday night is 99.50 pesos seafood special.

Most of us ordered the Filet Mignon done either rare or medium rare. It comes with Baked Potato and a few veggies. All the Filet Mignons were cooked exactly as ordered. They were large, juicy and very tender. I would say the size equals Bruno's Baseball Filet and is about double the size of Tango's filet, except Hacienda's Filet quality is far better. The Baked potato was cooked perfectly, nice and soft, an improvement over their previous baked potatos at Hacienda. You can get the Filet with either a Red Wine sauce or Mushroom sauce, tons of mushrooms.

One person ordered the Shrimp Diablo with a medium heat to it. It comes with rice and veggies, but he opted for a double order of rice. He said that was good too. Service was good and all meals were delivered at the same time.
johninajijic
johninajijic
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 3850
Join date : 2010-10-23
Age : 77
Location : West Ajijic
Humor : Sometimes

Back to top Go down

HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review Empty Re: HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review

Post by ferret Fri Sep 28, 2012 8:20 am

Thanks for the review John. Our personal favourite is the shrimp on a bed of spinach with a side order of pasta.
Do you know what hours they are open now? We went for lunch the other day and a waiter watched my hubby struggle to get out of the car with his cane, organize the dog on a lead...and we were almost there when he informed us that they didn't open 'til 1...it was 12:15. That was a surprise since they used to be open at noon. Consistent hours would be a real bonus in any restaurant.
So, we struggled back to the car...and ate elsewhere.

ferret
ferret
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 7800
Join date : 2010-05-23

Back to top Go down

HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review Empty Re: HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review

Post by johninajijic Fri Sep 28, 2012 9:04 am

ferret wrote:Thanks for the review John. Our personal favourite is the shrimp on a bed of spinach with a side order of pasta.
Do you know what hours they are open now? We went for lunch the other day and a waiter watched my hubby struggle to get out of the car with his cane, organize the dog on a lead...and we were almost there when he informed us that they didn't open 'til 1...it was 12:15. That was a surprise since they used to be open at noon. Consistent hours would be a real bonus in any restaurant.
So, we struggled back to the car...and ate elsewhere.


That's a damn shame about the opening time and the fact that the waiter didn't come out to help. They are new waiters. The old waiters always helped the handicapped and sometimes carried people in. I don't know what time they open now.

I just tried looking under the "Quick Jump" menu under Restaurants, but it's giving an ERROR message.
johninajijic
johninajijic
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 3850
Join date : 2010-10-23
Age : 77
Location : West Ajijic
Humor : Sometimes

Back to top Go down

HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review Empty Re: HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review

Post by CanuckBob Fri Sep 28, 2012 9:22 am

It would appear that site has been closed down. Looks like I need to find another restaurant site to link to.
CanuckBob
CanuckBob
Humble Administrator
Humble Administrator

Posts : 18922
Join date : 2010-04-04
Age : 57
Location : Lake Chapala (from Vancouver)
Humor : Sick and twisted

https://casadecomo.webs.com/

Back to top Go down

HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review Empty Re: HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review

Post by johninajijic Fri Sep 28, 2012 9:36 am

I said the specials on Wednesday and Thursday were at night, "correction", that is all day. Also, they have added a huge new wine rack which is about half full, but now contains approx 80 bottles of wine.
johninajijic
johninajijic
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 3850
Join date : 2010-10-23
Age : 77
Location : West Ajijic
Humor : Sometimes

Back to top Go down

HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review Empty Re: HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review

Post by gvprod Fri Sep 28, 2012 10:13 am

the "orange" colored salsa was probably HABANERO chile, habaneros have an orange color to them
gvprod
gvprod
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 502
Join date : 2010-09-30
Location : Ajijic Jalisco Mexico
Humor : live today like no one else, so tomorrow you can live like no one else

http://www.lathmedia.com

Back to top Go down

HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review Empty Re: HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review

Post by rico Sat Sep 29, 2012 9:17 am

Either that or tomatillo. If its habenero, that would certainly blow away the "mild for American tastes" concept.

rico
Senior member
Senior member

Posts : 67
Join date : 2010-04-06

Back to top Go down

HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review Empty Re: HACIENDA AJIJIC Restaurant Review

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum