INSIDE LAKESIDE
Log In or Register

Check your spam/junk folder for activation e-mail after you register.

Need a recommendation for a second opinion from a local dentist who speaks good English

Go down

Need a recommendation for a second opinion from a local dentist who speaks good English

Post by Clueless on Mon Jan 22, 2018 3:25 pm

My wife just saw a dentist and received a full check and was told she needed a lot of work. I know this is true since at least two of her teeth are very, very loose. My concern is that the dentist is talking about pulling ALL her upper teeth since they will ultimately be lost.

I know bone loss well since I went on FOZAMEX for 2-years to build lost bone.

There is also a question of bone loss but then talking about a possible implant.

I am reasonably knowledge in the dental field since I managed a dental office (my girlfriend at the time was a dentist) and I want to understand just what's happening. Everything was said in Spanish and my wife is not proficient enough to reallly explain it to me, but even if she could, I still want a second opinion.

I am NOT saying what she was told is not correct, I just feel a second opinion is always good.

THIS IS NOT PRICE SHOPPING!!!!!


Personal experience would be good.

Thanks.
avatar
Clueless
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 1093
Join date : 2014-07-31
Location : Where the wodvine twinith.

Back to top Go down

Re: Need a recommendation for a second opinion from a local dentist who speaks good English

Post by RickS on Mon Jan 22, 2018 4:07 pm

English Speaking Dentist(a) at Lakeside.... not an all-inclusive list.

Dr. Eloy Barragan - Mirasol
Dr. Haro - Riberas
Dra. Candy - San Antonio (next to HSBC across from Walmart)
Dr. Edgard Marcias. Dental Express. W. Ajijic

avatar
RickS
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 229
Join date : 2012-05-31
Location : Fort Collins Colorado

Back to top Go down

Re: Need a recommendation for a second opinion from a local dentist who speaks good English

Post by Clueless on Mon Jan 22, 2018 6:15 pm

RickS wrote:English Speaking Dentist(a) at Lakeside.... not an all-inclusive list.

Dr. Eloy Barragan - Mirasol
Dr. Haro - Riberas
Dra. Candy - San Antonio (next to HSBC across from Walmart)
Dr. Edgard Marcias. Dental Express. W. Ajijic


Have you had personal experience with them? Which speaks English the best IYO?

Thanks.
avatar
Clueless
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 1093
Join date : 2014-07-31
Location : Where the wodvine twinith.

Back to top Go down

Re: Need a recommendation for a second opinion from a local dentist who speaks good English

Post by gringal on Mon Jan 22, 2018 6:42 pm

Dr. Barragan has been our family dentist for nearly 8 years.  He's not the cheapest in town, but he has a very busy practice and wouldn't be "looking for work" to do.  I highly recommend him. He is bi-lingual and speaks very good Enlish.

gringal
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 10128
Join date : 2010-04-09
Location : Lake Chapala (from CA)
Humor : occasionally

Back to top Go down

Re: Need a recommendation for a second opinion from a local dentist who speaks good English

Post by RickS on Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:36 pm

You will be able to communicate with any of these dentists and they you unless one starts talking in local-ease idioms like maybe Alabama bubba talk.

I have had work done by each of these. I suggest that you make a consultation second-opinion appointment with Dr. Barragan....but since his is a busy office as was mentioned, it will not be ‘next week’.
avatar
RickS
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 229
Join date : 2012-05-31
Location : Fort Collins Colorado

Back to top Go down

Re: Need a recommendation for a second opinion from a local dentist who speaks good English

Post by DeborahE on Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:50 pm

My dentist is in Chapala. I have not visited her for a couple of years but I do know her English was improving much faster than my Spanish. I never had any trouble communicating with her and she did extensive work on me. She absolutely will only do what is necessary, but everything that is necessary, and will take no shortcuts, or do any inferior treatment even if you request it. For example, she would not extract a tooth unless it was absolutely necessary. She sent me to a specialist when needed. She is not your typical "gringo" dentist as her patients are mostly Mexican but she was getting more and more English speaking patients, thus her continued progress with English. Also, her prices are not "Gringo", thus much less than many dentists at Lakeside. I cannot say enough good things about her. And I repeat, I had no problem communicating with her. Her assistant however, the last time I was there, spoke no English so I would always stop by to make an appointment. If you do call, Dra. Maria will come to the phone and speak with you. Now, the bad news. I can't find her card for the exact address and phone. And I don't know, based on my comments, if you are interested. Let me know and I will get the contact information. She is a few doors toward the lake from the bus station in Chapala.

DeborahE
Newbie
Newbie

Posts : 11
Join date : 2017-09-17

Back to top Go down

Re: Need a recommendation for a second opinion from a local dentist who speaks good English

Post by Gamina on Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:30 pm

DeborahE wrote:My dentist is in Chapala.  I have not visited her for a couple of years but I do know her English was improving much faster than my Spanish.  I never had any trouble communicating with her and she did extensive work on me.  She absolutely will only do what is necessary,  but everything that is necessary, and will take no shortcuts, or do any inferior treatment even if you request it.  For example, she would not extract a tooth unless it was absolutely necessary.  She sent me to a specialist when needed.  She is not your typical "gringo" dentist as her patients are mostly Mexican but she was getting more and more English speaking patients, thus her continued progress with English. Also, her prices are not "Gringo", thus much less than many dentists at Lakeside.   I cannot say enough good things about her.  And I repeat, I had no problem communicating with her.  Her assistant however, the last time I was there, spoke no English so I would always stop by to make an appointment.  If you do call, Dra. Maria will come to the phone and speak with you.  Now, the bad news.  I can't find her card for the exact address and phone.  And I don't know, based on my comments, if you are interested.  Let me know and I will get the contact information.  She is a few doors toward the lake from the bus station in Chapala.  

Her name is Maria de Lourdes Barajas (many females in Mexico have the first name of Maria and for men it's Jose but don't go by that name; neither does Lourdes) 765-2800 I have a friend that has had beautiful and reasonably price restorative work. I've had extensive work too. She speaks great English and is a great dentist. She's a couple of doors south of the bus station on Madero, upstairs with a clearly marked sign.
avatar
Gamina
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 682
Join date : 2011-05-05

Back to top Go down

Re: Need a recommendation for a second opinion from a local dentist who speaks good English

Post by windrider17 on Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:33 am

Dr Candy and the specialists she works with are great.

windrider17
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 283
Join date : 2013-07-12
Location : Riberas
Humor : Warped

Back to top Go down

Re: Need a recommendation for a second opinion from a local dentist who speaks good English

Post by simpsca on Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:59 am

Dr. Barragan in Mirasol speaks perfect English. I had a tooth pulled and had bone loss in that area. He talked about a bone graft and implant. Implants can be rejected so we went with a bridge. Many years later it's still there. He is located near the entrance to Mirasol and phone is 376 765-5584.
avatar
simpsca
Events Reporter
Events Reporter

Posts : 2494
Join date : 2010-04-16
Age : 71

Back to top Go down

Re: Need a recommendation for a second opinion from a local dentist who speaks good English

Post by ltollefs on Tue Jan 23, 2018 2:18 pm

Another plug here for Dra. Candy. Great service and she speaks English as well as I do.
avatar
ltollefs
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 715
Join date : 2013-03-24
Location : Chapala

Back to top Go down

Re: Need a recommendation for a second opinion from a local dentist who speaks good English

Post by Gogo on Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:27 pm

Another recommendation for Dra. Candy here. Been going to her for 2 1/2 years.

Gogo
Member
Member

Posts : 38
Join date : 2015-08-20

Back to top Go down

Re: Need a recommendation for a second opinion from a local dentist who speaks good English

Post by sm1mex on Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:57 pm

I also recommend Dr. Candy. She has a t.v. probe to show on a t.v. screen on the ceiling all of your teeth and you can see if there are problems.

sm1mex
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 782
Join date : 2012-06-27

Back to top Go down

Re: Need a recommendation for a second opinion from a local dentist who speaks good English

Post by JayBear on Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:49 pm

Dr. Haro in Riberas. US trained; I believe his practice was in Maryland. He was the one I chose when I wanted to get an opinion of the state of my dental work, much of which had been done long ago in the US. Pilar in his office is also excellent.

JayBear
Share Holder
Share Holder

Posts : 430
Join date : 2013-02-22

Back to top Go down

Re: Need a recommendation for a second opinion from a local dentist who speaks good English

Post by Viajero-Tiempo on Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:49 pm

Dra Consuelo Sanchez in same office with Barragan in Riberas
A very gentle dentista - and thorough
They also have a very good person for implants and veneers, etc

Viajero-Tiempo
Senior member
Senior member

Posts : 78
Join date : 2010-09-21

Back to top Go down

Re: Need a recommendation for a second opinion from a local dentist who speaks good English

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum