INSIDE LAKESIDE

Check your spam/junk folder for activation e-mail after you register.

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

INSIDE LAKESIDE

Check your spam/junk folder for activation e-mail after you register.
INSIDE LAKESIDE
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Grocery shopping options??

+9
sm1mex
ColorMeBlue
Carry Bean
brigitte
RVGRINGO
JayBear
Lady Otter Latté
ComputerGuy
Bearded Beemer
13 posters

Go down

Grocery shopping options?? Empty Grocery shopping options??

Post by Bearded Beemer Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:19 am

Hello there, full on Newbie here so please be gentle.
Wife and I researching Ajijic area for possible retirement location. Do you mostly do your grocery shopping at Wal-Mart and/or Super Lake? Is the selection and pricing decent enough or is a trip to Guad a better options?
Bearded Beemer
Bearded Beemer

Humor : Twisted

Back to top Go down

Grocery shopping options?? Empty Re: Grocery shopping options??

Post by ComputerGuy Wed Jun 26, 2019 12:05 pm

Definitely better options, better stores, better variety in Guadalajara. That being said, I rarely go there, and there is a delivery company that will bring you CostCo items (for say, Muenster cheese slices, or Mandu-beef potstickers). I get most everything at WalMart and SuperLake. WalMart for bread, say, and SuperLake for bread'n'butter pickles. I also shop occasionally at all the little fruit/veggie stores around, for much better selections of fresh goods. But, like up north, you have to "shop around".

SuperLake is, of course, pricey for many things, because they are imported. But, you learn.

SuperLaura belongs to the same family as SuperLake, and is a Mexican small grocery store in San Antonio, where I can get things like Tapatio crackers that are available nowhere else. And in Riberas, there is a little grocery store that gets excellent bolillos (buns) every day around 3:15.
ComputerGuy
ComputerGuy
Share Holder
Share Holder